it’s funny till it isn’t

the intensity of this heat feels

like a premature call toward death

 

no, srsly, I’d like to cordially invite you

to my funeral

 

okay I have always been dramatic,

once a Myspace quiz told me my spirit animal

 

is a blue whale, of course, for their emotional depth,

which is my preferred way of saying I am sensitive

 

my Weather app tells me it’s 96 degrees

the ‘feels like’ is 108 degrees

 

and I’m like why is what it feels like not

simply what it is, I’ve never understood the difference

 

I used to dread the summer in my schooldays

(I still dread the summer)

 

how it always feels like standing silent

behind the window, stuck somewhere in the blinds

 

anyway, today I decided to take the risk of leaving the house

without an oily layer of sunscreen

 

I hate when something stands between the body me

and the walking in the world me

 

this is ironic given all the masks

I would slip between in high school,

 

how, even still, everyone looked

at me and thought die die die

 

the UV index is 7

(I googled what that meant)

 

I may not be getting it but I think that means

the sun-rays are so hyped on themselves they

 

can literally move right through you

sometimes people look right through me, and think dead dead dead

 

inside or outside, the flies keep swarming my body

as if I am already carcass, springboard

 

off my skin, ready to crawl into my eyes,

my mouth, I clench all the open of me shut

 

and I’m like yo shouldn’t you fuckers

be afraid of me, I am literally a giant to u

 

before I left for college, I went on this whale watching

tour in the Boston harbor. It was so rocky

 

I threw up until my guts were practically on the table

(all the tourists squealed, the whales were cool w/ it tho)

 

I know I resemble something washed up

on shore, too #beachbody

 

aren’t we all wonders of the world

one wrong turn away from fossil

 

sweat rivers down the nape of my neck and I think

about the feels like me and the very real me me

 

and I’m like girl isn’t it crazy

how long we’ve made it

 

one of us, surely, shouldn’t

be alive

Leave a comment